Tag Archives: Agatha Christie

Dame Agatha and Her Orient Express

Susan Vaughan here. Seeing Kenneth Branagh’s new film version of Murder on the Orient Express prompted me to reread Agatha Christie’s original 1934 novel. For the uninitiated, the story as written and the 2017 film are both set aboard the … Continue reading

Posted in Susan's posts | Tagged , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Why’d They Have to Go and CHANGE Things?

What do the following characters have in common besides the fact that they are all detectives in mystery fiction? Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, Marjorie Allingham’s Albert Campion, Dorothy L. Sayers’ Lord … Continue reading

Posted in Kaitlyn's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Mystery Loves Company

Dorothy Cannell: A few weeks ago a friend from England came to visit and gave me, perhaps in hope of breakfast in bed, a page from The Times, Monday October 3, 2016 written by David Sanderson under the headline “And Then … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

The Waldoboro Public Library

Dorothy Cannell: Some years ago I was talking with a friend who had moved to the U.S. from England as an adult, as I had done. Our conversation revolved around the strong pull that the country of our birth and upbringing … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , | 9 Comments

Tuning The Ear

Dorothy Cannell: For the past several years I have been focusing much of my mystery reading on golden oldies in the tradition of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Josephine Tey, Georgette Heyer, Patricia Wentworth, etc.. The reason – I enjoy them … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments


Susan Vaughan here. Some friends and I were sharing what were the first novels for adults that really hooked us. For me, it was mysteries. Every Saturday as far back as I can recall, I went to the local library … Continue reading

Posted in Susan's posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Edgar Allan Poe Explains it All

Early on, I admired the work of  Edgar Allan Poe, thanks mostly to my mother who read out loud to me his very creepy short story The Gold Bug. It was about a man obsessed with searching for treasure after … Continue reading

Posted in Vicki's Posts | Tagged , , , , , | 13 Comments