Tag Archives: Agatha Christie

Mystery Loves Company

Dear Readers, Dorothy cannot blog this month, so since we know you like your regular dose of her insight and humor, we are rerunning a post from a few years back that you might enjoy discovering or rereading. What are … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Thanks, Mom

Yes, I know Mother’s Day was last Sunday but this is my day so I’m having my say. I have my mother to thank for introducing me to mystery novels. We seldom agreed on much, but shared the love of … Continue reading

Posted in Susan's posts | Tagged , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Anti-social

Jessie: In New Hampshire where the snow has melted sufficiently to expose cheerful clumps of daffodils. I’ve been thinking a great deal lately about technology and social media. With all that has been on the news about privacy violations and … Continue reading

Posted in Jessie's Posts, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Dame Agatha and Her Orient Express

Susan Vaughan here. Seeing Kenneth Branagh’s new film version of Murder on the Orient Express prompted me to reread Agatha Christie’s original 1934 novel. For the uninitiated, the story as written and the 2017 film are both set aboard the … Continue reading

Posted in Susan's posts | Tagged , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Why’d They Have to Go and CHANGE Things?

What do the following characters have in common besides the fact that they are all detectives in mystery fiction? Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, Marjorie Allingham’s Albert Campion, Dorothy L. Sayers’ Lord … Continue reading

Posted in Kaitlyn's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

The Waldoboro Public Library

Dorothy Cannell: Some years ago I was talking with a friend who had moved to the U.S. from England as an adult, as I had done. Our conversation revolved around the strong pull that the country of our birth and upbringing … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , | 9 Comments

Tuning The Ear

Dorothy Cannell: For the past several years I have been focusing much of my mystery reading on golden oldies in the tradition of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Josephine Tey, Georgette Heyer, Patricia Wentworth, etc.. The reason – I enjoy them … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments