Tag Archives: Murder at Mullings

All in a Day’s Drive

Dorothy Cannell: Had a wonderful Malice Domestic spending time with old friends and hopefully making new ones.  My husband Julian and I set off in the car 5 AM on Thursday, April 27th.  We always leave at that inhumane hour so … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , | 9 Comments

Tuning The Ear

Dorothy Cannell: For the past several years I have been focusing much of my mystery reading on golden oldies in the tradition of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Josephine Tey, Georgette Heyer, Patricia Wentworth, etc.. The reason – I enjoy them … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Life Between Worlds

Dorothy Cannell, freshly out of writer’s jail, has this to report: This past month has been another of those times when I exist in a fuzzy state of being on reaching the end of a book, this one Death in Dovecote … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

Let Them Eat Rock Cakes

Dorothy Cannell here, hoping you’ll forgive me for not doing a longer post, but the fact is that I’ve got a book due very soon and I’m a bit behind. Indeed, I’m in that place that some of my fellow … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Book Events

Dorothy Cannell here. Had a great time at Boothbay Book Festival last Saturday. Appreciate Sherman’s providing copies of my books Murder at Mullings and Sea Glass Summer for sale. Enjoyed talking to readers.and being at a table with other Maine crime … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Weekend Update: May 17-18, 2014

Next week at Maine Crime Writers there will be posts by Susan Vaughan (Tuesday), Jim Hayman (Wednesday), Barb Ross (Thursday), and Al Lamanda (Friday), with a special guest blog on Monday from Jenny Milchman, who just won the Mary Higgins … Continue reading

Posted in Sunday Updates | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Dorothy’s Weekend Away

Dorothy Cannell here: Arrived back home Monday evening after a fabulous long weekend at Malice Domestic 26, in Bethesda Maryland.  We have a very dear friend, Barbara, visiting us.  She usually comes out from England for a couple of weeks each … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Hope

by Dorothy Cannell This week I’ve been thinking about my granddaughter Hope, now eleven.  I received an e-mail from my editor at Severn House asking if I wished to include a dedication and any acknowledgements for Murder at Mullings.  This … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , | 7 Comments

Dorothy Cannell asks What if? and gets a story idea . . .

Dorothy Cannell: Where do you get your writing ideas?  This commonly asked question is frequently answered with:  “They’re not the problem.  Writers usually have more of them than they can ever use.”  But that has to leave the inquirer wanting to … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , | 7 Comments

An Interview with Dorothy Cannell

Kaitlyn Dunnett/Kathy Lynn Emerson here, going into fan-girl mode because our special guest today at Maine Crime Writers is Dorothy Cannell, best known for her lighthearted traditional mysteries featuring Ellie Haskell and her husband Ben. Dorothy, who lives year-round on the … Continue reading

Posted in Guest Blog | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments