Category Archives: Dorothy’s Posts

Mystery Loves Company

Dorothy Cannell: A few weeks ago a friend from England came to visit and gave me, perhaps in hope of breakfast in bed, a page from The Times, Monday October 3, 2016 written by David Sanderson under the headline “And Then … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

The Dog in the Room

Dorothy Cannell: I currently have on my refrigerator a photo of an eleven-day-old Cavalier King Charles puppy, eyes still sealed shut and a bald nose. His name is Watson. I know that because I chose it after asking my dog loving … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | 8 Comments

Where I Get My Ideas

Dorothy Cannell: I recently told my husband Julian that I was turning into Miss Marple. “An urge to sit knitting something white?” he asked. “No. My wild knitting days are long behind me. I’m talking about seeing wickedness at every turn.” … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | 27 Comments

The Waldoboro Public Library

Dorothy Cannell: Some years ago I was talking with a friend who had moved to the U.S. from England as an adult, as I had done. Our conversation revolved around the strong pull that the country of our birth and upbringing … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , | 9 Comments

Happy Reading

Dorothy Cannell: Had a marvelous time at the Malice convention in Bethesda; the feeling is always one of attending a family reunion with only the lovable relatives present. This one was extra special because Katherine Hall Page received the Lifetime Achievement … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , | 8 Comments

English Translation of English

Dorothy Cannell: I was talking with a friend (aka husband) recently and we agreed that the words he or she ‘meant well’ have to be amongst the most damning in the English language. Conclusion: Outcome may range between disappointing and disastrous, … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | 8 Comments

Tuning The Ear

Dorothy Cannell: For the past several years I have been focusing much of my mystery reading on golden oldies in the tradition of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Josephine Tey, Georgette Heyer, Patricia Wentworth, etc.. The reason – I enjoy them … Continue reading

Posted in Dorothy's Posts | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments